Substitute.

Substitute. By definition: put in the place of another; switch seemingly equivalent items.

Substitute can be used in many terms, mainly for things like cooking. Substitute for butter, substitute for baking soda, substitute for shortening, etc etc. My favorite kind of substitute? Substitute teacher.

We all know the first thing everyone thinks when you see a substitute teacher in your class. “Yay! Mr./Mrs. Whoever isn’t here today! Time to slack and get absolutely nothing done!”

I my opinion, one of the worst feelings in the world is having to drag yourself out of bed at 6 a.m and walking into school on Monday morning. Any normal person would rather be sleeping. Every morning, regardless of the day of the week, I have the same class and it starts at 7:45 a.m. and lasts for three hours. I have to walk up four flights of stairs to get to my class that is on the very top floor of my school. You don’t think this is fun yet? Here comes the best part. My teacher. Ahh, my teacher Ms. A. Not only does she dislike me to the extreme, but she is always crabby in the morning no matter what the occasion.

So it’s 7:35 and I’m walking to class, dreading it the whole way. First I get locked out of the building, my keycard decided to be bipolar. While I stand outside waiting for someone to let me in, my hair is getting massive! Expanding! Ohh, to live in Florida and worry about the humidity at 7:30 in the morning. I finally get let into the building, by a kid who doesn’t even like me. I’m surprised he let me in. Here I go, mustering every ounce of strength I have at 7:40 a.m (which isn’t very much as you can imagine) to drag myself up the four flights of stairs. Thinking to myself, how I wish I could fly right now. It’s a good thing I’m young and have good knees or else I would have collapsed a long time ago. I get to my classroom after what had seemed like a lifetime of climbing stairs. I go to open the classroom door, but it’s locked. It’s never usually locked. Hmm… so I’m knocking on the door and I wave to my friend to let me in (because I knew Ms. A wasn’t going to get up to do it). Before my friend could make it to the door, someone else opened it.

At that very moment, I could here the hallelujah chorus as my eyes fell upon a little old man who was shorter than me holding the door open. We had a substitute in class today. It was a nice change of pace to hear “Good Morning” from someone who wasn’t being sarcastic about it. It took everything I had in me not to hug him and yell “GOD BLESS YOU!”

Even though my other two classes I have today are two classes that I cannot stand, this Monday will not be a bad one because I was not stressed out in my first period class. Credit to Ms. A for not being at school today!

About halliematthews

This is Hallie, you're welcome. View all posts by halliematthews

Leave a Reply

