Kodachrome.

Photography, my passion. I started taking pictures at about the age of 7.

My first camera was a Pentax. It had belonged to my Grandfather who then gave it to my dad, who then gave it to me.

Just me and my little film camera. It was all I needed. This was before Nicole came along, so my camera was my best friend. I would take pictures of everything and at any time of day. First thing in the morning, running through the backyard, riding my bicycle, etc etc. The majority of them came out blurry, but blurry or not, my parents spent plenty of money developing my film.

Recently, Kodak decided to discontinue their Kodachrome film after 74 years. In my opinion, some of the most amazing material a photographer could ever ask for. I only wish I had gotten the chance to try Kodachrome before it’s discontinuation.

These are a few photos taken with Kodachrome film.

Steve McCurry is an American photojournalist who has done work for National Geographic. I admire his work probably more than any other photographer. He is best recognized for this photo, titled ‘Afghan Girl‘ which was taken in June 1985 in Pakistan. She is Sharbat Gula and she was 12 years old when this photo was taken with Kodachrome film. During this time, Kodachrome was all he photographed with. This photo, remains today, the most recognizable photo in the history of National Geographic.

What fascinates me most is that 25 years later, the team located Sharbat in Afghanistan and went to photograph her a second time.

She still has the same seriousness about her and her ever-haunting eyes look just as beautiful as they did when she was first photographed.

Kodachrome was such an amazing tool for photographers and I only wish that I had gotten the chance to experience using it first-hand. Now that it is a collectable item, some photographers still have it. Maybe some day I’ll come across a set of it and get to try it out.

About halliematthews

This is Hallie, you're welcome. View all posts by halliematthews

2 responses to “Kodachrome.

Leave a Reply

